Photo by Library of Congress on Unsplash

My Initial Reaction To The Assassination Attempt On Trump Is A Problem

But I Won't Change

Michael Major
3 min readJul 23, 2024

--

The press coverage of the assassination attempt of former President Trump reminded me of 9/11. I could not count the number of times I watched the planes hit the towers, much like I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve watched the former president touch his ear.

While the event is disturbing, I found my reaction to it troubling.

Within seconds, I’d formed an opinion, which I summed up in one word.

Staged

Why Would I Jump to This Conclusion?

I love a good conspiracy theory.

I’ve probably looked into damn near every one of them in some capacity. From flat earth to reptilians, I’ve dove into all the rabbit holes.

Some hold water, but most do not.

When I saw Trump turn, touch his ear, and then drop to the ground amid a series of popping sounds, my BS meter redlined.

My first thought was that they were blanks being fired, or someone tossed a squib on a roof, and Trump smeared some fake blood on his ear after he went down.

Why would an intelligent and rational person’s knee-jerk reaction be that the former president…

--

--

Michael Major

Freelance writer, avid outdoorsman, husband, father, and a proud veteran of the Canadian Armed Forces www.majorfreelancewriting.com